South Yorkshire Fire & Rescue - Working For a Safer South Yorkshire

District areas

school fire

South Yorkshire is a metropolitan county in the Yorkshire and the Humber region of England. It has a population of 1.29 million. It consists of four metropolitan boroughs: Barnsley, Doncaster, Rotherham, and the city of Sheffield. South Yorkshire was created on 1 April 1974 as a result of the Local Government Act 1972.

The county borders Derbyshire, West Yorkshire, North Yorkshire, East Riding of Humberside, Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire. The scenery is a mixture of built up areas, industrial land with some dereliction, and farmed open country. Ribbon developments along transport routes including canal, road and rail are prominent features of the area although some remnants of the pre industrial landscape and semi-natural vegetation still survive. Major rivers which cross the area are the Dearne, Rother and Don.